A month and a half after the final race this year’s SloEnduro season finally ended with awards presentation in Ajdovščina.

In its sixth season the series united five SloEnduro events and six SloEnduro 4Fun events in three countries. For the first time the 4Fun series did not have a ranking since the main goal of these events is to promote the discipline. 268 riders from 13 countries earned points in SloEnduro races.

Most winners of the trophies were already known, especially the ones who earned them by collecting points.

Slovenian Vid Peršak (Sunbikers Mondraker Racing) is the men’s overall champion once again, for the fourth time in a row. Nejc Huth (Energijateam.com) took second and Tim Jež (Kamlpc Racing Team) third place. Austrian Peter Mihalkovits (Radwelt MK Factory Racing) finished the season in fourth and another Slovenian Davor Kacin (Kamplc Racing Team) in fifth place.

Yana Dobnig (RLM Enduro Racing) is the 2018 women’s champion for the second time after 2016 in front of 2017 winner Petra Bernhard (Friesis-Bikery Racing Team), both from Austria, and Hungarian Veronika Cseh (Alpinbike Team Endura) took third.

Slovenia, Austria and Italy on podium in junior men: Matic Berginc (KD Rajd Ljubljana) won, Max Fejer (Team Dorrong) finished second and Davide De Sabbata (ASD Team Granzon) third.

Austrian Tino Huber (Radlager Mountainbikeverein) won in Master 1 in front of another Austrian Bernd Dorrong (Team Dorrong) in second and Hungarian Daniel Ördög (Alpinbike Team Endura) in third.

Austrian king in Master 2 as well: Cri Maierhofer (Team Dorrong) won in front of Slovenians Grega Nagode (Energijateam.com) and Marko Prosen (Kamplc Racing Team).

And the “hobby” class was completely kindnapped by Austrians: Reiner Glanz (Bikeclub Giant Stattegg) won in front of David Guttmann (ESR Downhill Team) in second and David Gruber (Redneck Riders MTB Verein) in third place.

Special Awards

The title of O’Neal Rookie of the Year went to British rider Rhys Wood who showed up for all SloEnduro races, finished the season in 14th overall while his best result of the year was 10th at Krvavec.

We have two SuperRiders in 2018 who made it to the finish line at all eleven races: one again it’s Miha Spruk (Calcit bike team) and Grega Nagode (Energijateam.com) who receive free registration for all 2019 events.

The winners of Kenda SuperStage season standing are Dobnig and Huth.

Kamplc Team Best on Two Fronts

Kamplc Racing Team of Ajdovščina won the team ranking title for the first time. Sunbikers Mondraker Racing placed second and Energijateam.com third.

Traditionally all the event organizers received their own trophies as well and when they were all holding the trophies in their hands one of them discovered the engraving: the title of best event of 2018 season went to Enduro Kamplc in Ajdovščina by Kamplc Racing Team for the first time. The race was held in Ajdovščina only for the second time but has a 10-year tradition which started at nearby Javornik bike park. Enduro Kamplc was the first ever enduro race in Slovenia and also the first SloEnduro event in history.

Another trophy went to the organizers of EWS Petzen-Jamnica, the first EWS event in Slovenia and Austria. Black Hole Enduro returns to SloEnduro series in 2019.

2019 Ahead

Riding conditions were ideal in Ajdovščina so the participants started the day with a ride. A SloEnduro management meeting followed, then a meeting with all 2019 event organizers. We’ll have some news and the calendars ready for you soon!

Photos by Ma_Tej and AD